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Bureau of Vocational Nursing and Psychiatric Technicians proposes emergency
adoption of title 16 regulations to require submission of fingerprints and the disclosure of
any convictions as a condition of license renewal or reactivation. Related licensing and
renewal fees will increase to cover the staffing costs and enforcement activities
associated with these requirements.

OAL approves this emergency regulatory action pursuant to sections 11346.1 and
11349.6 of the Government Code.
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Bureau of Vocational Nursing and Psychiatric Technicians

ORDER OF ADOPTION

VOCATIONAL NURSING REGULATIONS

(1) Adopt Section 2504.1 of Division 25 of Title 16 of the California Code of
Regulations, to read as follows:

Article 1. General Provisions

2504.1. Response to Board Inquiry.

If the board or its designee asks a licensee to provide criminal history information, a
licensee shall respond to that request within 30 days. The licensee shall make
available all documents and other records requested and shall respond with
accurate information.

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 2841.1 and 2854, Business and Professions Code.
Reference: Sections 144, 2847, 2854, 2875, 2878, and 2878.6, Business and
Professions Code; and Section 11105, Penal Code.

(2) Adopt Section 2517.5 of Division 25 of Title 16 of the California Code of
Regulations, to read as follows:

Article 4. Licenses

2517.5. Fingerprint and Disclosure Requirements for Renewal of License.

(a) As a condition of renewal for a license that expires on or after April 1, 2009, a
licensee who was initially licensed prior to January 1, 1998, or for whom an
electronic record of the submission of fingerprints no longer exists, shall furnish
to the Department of Justice a full set of fingerprints for the purpose of
conducting a criminal history record check and to undergo a state and federal
level criminal offender record information search conducted through the
Department of Justice.
(1) The licensee shall pay any costs for furnishing the fingerprints and

conducting the searches.
(2) A licensee shall certify on the renewal form whether his or her fingerprints

have been furnished to the Department of Justice in compliance with this
section.

(3) This requirement is waived if the licensee is renewed in an inactive status,
or is actively serving in the military outside the country.

(4) A licensee shall retain, for at least three years from the renewal date,
1



either a receipt showing the electronic transmission of his or her
fingerprints to the Department of Justice or a receipt evidencing that the
licensee's fingerprints were taken.

(b) As a condition of renewaL, a licensee shall disclose on the renewal form whether,
in the prior renewal cycle, he or she has been convicted of any violation of the
law in this or any other state, the United States, or other country, omitting traffic
infractions under $300 not involving alcohoL, dangerous drugs, or controlled
substances. In addition, a licensee shall disclose any disciplinary actions against
his or her license.

(c) Failure to comply with the requirements of this section renders any application for
renewal incomplete and the license will not be renewed until the licensee
demonstrates compliance with all requirements.

(d) Failure to furnish a full set of fingerprints to the Department of Justice as required
by this section on or before the date required for renewal of a license is grounds
for discipline by the Board.

NOTE: Authority: Sections 144, 2841.1, 2854, Business and Professions Code.
Reference: Sections 144, 2841.1, 2854, 2878, 2878.6, 2878.8, 2892.1, and 2892.3,

Business and Professions Code; and Section 11105, Penal Code.

(3) Amend Section 2537 of Division 25 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations,
to read as follows:

Article 6. Revenue

2537. Fees.

The following fees are established:

(a) The fee to be paid upon the filing of an application is seventy-five dollars
($75).

(b) The re-examination application fee (for any examination after the first) is
seventy-five dollars ($75).

(c) The biennial renewal fee is one hundred twenty dollars ($120). For licenses
that expire on or after July 1, 2009, the biennial renewal fee shall be one hundred fifty
dollars ($150). In addition, an assessment of five dollars ($5) shall be collected and
credited to the Vocational Nurse Education Fund, pursuant to section 2895.5 of the
Code.

(d) The delinquency fee is sixty dollars ($60). For licenses that expire on or
after July 1, 2009, the delinquency fee shall be seventy-five dollars ($75).

(e) The initial license fee is one hundred twenty dollars ($120). The initial
license fee on or after July 1, 2009, shall be one hundred fifty dollars ($150).

(f) The interim permit fee is forty dollars ($40).
(g) The duplicate license fee is twenty-five dollars ($25).
(h) The endorsement fee is seventy-five dollars ($75).
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(i) The penalty fee for submitting insufficient funds or fictitious check, draft, or
money order on any bank or depository for payment of any fee to the Board is ten
dollars ($10).

Note: Authority cited: Section 2854, Business and Professions Code. Reference:
Sections 2867.5, 2895, 2895.1 and 2895.5, Business and Professions Code; and

Section 6157, Government Code.

(4) Amend Section 2540.6 of Division 25 of Title 16 of the California Code of
Regulations, to read as follows:

Article 7. Continuing Education

2540.6. Inactive Licenses.

(a) A license will be placed on inactive status when the renewal fee is paid and
continuing education requirements have not been met.

(b) To reactivate an inactive license the licensee must submit proof of thirty hours of
continuing education taken during the preceding two years and furnish a full set
offingerprints as required by section 2517.5.

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 2841.1 and 2854, Business and Professions Code.
Reference: Sections 144, 700, 701, 703, 704, 2854, 2875, 2878, and 2892.5, Business
and Professions Code; and Section 11105, Penal Code.
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PSYCHIATRIC TECHNICIAN REGULATIONS

(1) Adopt Section 2564.1 of Division 25 of Title 16 of the California Code of
Regulations, to read as follows:

Article 2. Application for License

2564.1. Response to Board Inquiry.

If the board or its designee asks a licensee to provide criminal history information, a
licensee shall respond to that request within 30 days. The licensee shall make
available all documents and other records requested and shall respond with
accurate information.

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 4501.1. 4503. and 4504, Business and Professions
Code. Reference: Sections 125.9, 144, 4503. 4510. 4511, 4521, 4521.2, and 4523,
Business and Professions Code; and Section 11105, Penal Code.

(2) Adopt Section 2575.5 of Division 25 of Title 16 of the California Code of
Regulations, to read as follows:

Article 4. Licenses

2575.5. Fingerprint and Disclosure Requirements for Renewal of License.

(a) As a condition of renewal for a license that expires on or after April 1, 2009, a
licensee who was initially licensed prior to January 1. 1998. or for whom an
electronic record of the submission of fingerprints no longer exists, shall furnish
to the Department of Justice a full set of fingerprints for the purpose of
conducting a criminal history record check and to undergo a state and federal
level criminal offender record information search conducted through the
Department of Justice,
(1) The licensee shall pay any costs for furnishing the fingerprints and

conducting the searches.

(2) A licensee shall certify on the renewal form whether his or her fingerprints

have been furnished to the Department of Justice in compliance with this
section.

(3) This requirement is waived if the licensee is renewed in an inactive status,
or is actively serving in the military outside the country.

(4) A licensee shall retain, for at least three years from the renewal date,
either a receipt showing the electronic transmission of his or her
fingerprints to the Department of Justice or a receipt evidencing that the
licensee's fingerprints were taken.
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(b) As a condition of renewaL an applicant for renewal shall disclose on the renewal
form whether, in the prior renewal cycle, he or she has been convicted of any
violation of the law in this or any other state, the United States, or other country,
omitting traffic infractions under $300 not involving alcohoL dangerous drugs, or
controlled substances. In addition, a licensee shall disclose any disciplinary
actions against his or her license.

(c) Failure to comply with the requirements of this section renders any application for
renewal incomplete and the license will not be renewed until the licensee
demonstrates compliance with all requirements.

(d) Failure to furnish a full set of fingerprints to the Department of Justice as required
by this section on or before the date required for renewal of a license is grounds
for discipline by the Board.

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections, 144, 4501.1 and 4504, Business and Professions
Code. Reference: Sections 144, 4503, 4515, 4521, 4521.6 4544, and 4545, Business

and Professions Code; and Section 11105, Penal Code.

(3) Amend Section 2590 of Division 25 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations,
to read as follows:

Article 6. Revenue

2590. Fees.

The following fees are established:
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(8) For licensing periods beginning on or after July 1, 1992, the fee for an initial
license shall be ninety dollars ($90). Licenses shall expire at PAiO year intervals on the

last day of the month in which the licensee's birthday occurs, beginning with the second
birthday following the date on \Nhich the license was issued.

(f) The penalty fee for submittng insufficient funds or fictitious check, draft or
order on any bank or depository for payment of any fee to the Board is ten dollars ($10).

The following fees are established:

(a) The fee to be paid upon the filing of an application is one hundred dollars
($100).

(b) The re-examination application fee (for any examination after the first) is one
hundred dollars ($100).

(c) For a license that expires on or after July 1, 2009, the biennial renewal fee is
three hundred dollars ($300).

(d) For a license that expires on or after July 1, 2009, the delinquency fee is one
hundred fifty dollars ($150).

(e) The initial license fee on or after July 1, 2009 is three hundred dollars ($300).
(f The interim permit fee is twenty dollars ($20).

(g) The duplicate license fee is twenty dollars ($20).
(h) The endorsement fee is twenty dollars ($20).
(i The post-licensure certification in blood withdrawal fee is twenty dollars ($20).
(j The biennial fee for renewal for a provider of an approved continuing

education course or a course to meet the certification requirements for blood withdrawal
is one hundred fifty dollars ($150).

(k) The penalty fee for submitting insufficient funds or fictitious check, draft, or
money order on any bank or depository for payment of any fee to the Board is ten
dollars ($10).

Note: Authority cited: Section 4504, Business and Professions Code. Reference:
Sections 152.6, 4544 and 4548, Business and Professions Code; and Section 6157,
Government Code.

(4) Amend Section 2592.6 of Division 25 of Title 16 of the California Code of
Regulations, to read as follows:

Article 7. Continuing Education

2592.6. Inactive Licenses.

(a) A license will be placed on inactive status when the renewal fee is paid and
continuing education requirements have not been met.

(b) To reactivate an inactive license the licensee must submit proof of thirty hours of
continuing education taken during the preceding two years and furnish a full set
of fingerprints as required by section 2575.5.
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NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 4501.1 and 4504, Business and Professions Code.
Reference: Section§ 144, 700, 701, 703, 704, 4503, 4517, and 4521, Business and
Professions Code; and Section 11105, Penal Code.

(1/9/2009)
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